Cleanse and Restore

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. – (Psalm 51:10, NIV)

God, create pure heart in me, and make my spirit strong again. – (Psalm 51:10, ERV)

Create in me a clean heart, O God; restore within me a sense of being brand new. – (Psalm 51:10, VOICE)

Not only is this a great thing to pray in this season, but it is one we ought to pray daily, for it is good to be cleansed and made new again as we navigate each day with a fresh start. To have a steadfast spirit is to have unwavering faith, which is a sort of strength that comes from God. My best days come when I feel rested and refreshed and have a sense of new resolve. Being brand new is an interesting concept. As I think about when we have something new, we will do our best to keep said item nice, for as long as we can. If we take the same approach with our spirit, we can ever be new through trusting and following the Lord’s leading. He can keep our heart pure and our spirit strong. It is not through us trying to be good enough or to do enough, but rather it is in the seeking and following after Him that we are refreshed and restored for so much more. ay we ever seek the Lord to cleanse our heart and restore in us a strong spirit.

O Lord, I seek You,

to create in me;

a heart that is clean,

and a spirit free.

Free to choose follow,

each day after You;

to rise in Your strength,

to ever love true.

Please show me, O God,

the ways I should go;

equip my being,

so Your goodness shows.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are good and that You are for us. Thank You that as we seek You, You cleanse us from all unrighteousness and grant us strength to walk in Your ways and do Your will. Forgive us for the things that we think, say and do that do not align with Your goodness and grace. Show us Your plans that are good so that we may follow after You in all that we say and do. Lead us in Your overwhelming love to extend the same to those around us. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we seek You to make us clean and new so that we may go forth and love true. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Grabrick and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

What you should want most is God’s kingdom and doing what He wants you to do. Then He will give you all these other things you need. – Matthew 6:33

Leave a comment