Rejoice

Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. – (Habakkuk 3:18, NIV)

But I will still be glad in the Lord and rejoice in God my Savior. – (Habakkuk 3:18, ERV)

Then I will still rejoice in the Eternal! I will rejoice in the God who saves me! – (Habakkuk 3:18, VOICE)

Habakkuk is an interesting book as it alternates back and forth between searching for God in difficulty, and praising Him for who He is. It is a wonderful reminder to us that we are meant to praise Him in all circumstances, for He is good no matter what is going on around us. During my hardest days, He has been present to still show me reasons to rejoice. On my best days, I am overwhelmed with gratitude for who He is and how He loves. No matter the circumstances, God remains present and walks alongside us, present to help and to uphold. When I think of how much I love my own children and want to help, encourage, and bless them, I am reminded that if I can love like that as a broken and imperfect parent, how much more does He love us as God our Father, who is perfect? May we ever seek the Lord and give Him praise, for He is our help and our hope throughout all of our days.

Be glad, take delight,

for the Lord is good;

He meets us always,

makes grace understood.

His heart is for us,

His love knows no end;

God’s peace and presence,

will ever transcend.

Beyond what we’ve known,

His love is much more;

in good times and bad,

it’s us He is for.

So, rise up with thanks,

may we lift our voice;

to praise our Father,

in Whom we rejoice.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are good and You are for us. Thank You that when things are difficult, we can seek You and trust in Your presence. Thank You that when things are good, we have You to thank and praise. Forgive us for the times that we have neglected to see Your hands and heart in our circumstances, for You always make Your goodness known. Teach us to trust You more. Show us how to love and give You praise throughout all of our days, so that those around us may know more of Your heart for them. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we thank You for Your nearness always, and for the reasons we know that lead us to ever rejoice in You. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Grabrick and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him. – Colossians 3:17

Leave a comment