Love Fulfills the Law

Love does no wrong to a neighbor. Love, therefore, is the fulfillment of the law. – (Romans 13:10, HCSB)

Love doesn’t hurt others. So loving is the same as obeying all the law. – (Romans 13:10, ERV)

Does love hurt anyone? Absolutely not. In fact, love achieves everything the law requires. – (Romans 13:10, VOICE)

I am a rule follower. Maybe it is being the eldest child, or something within me that wants to do right, either way, it is freeing to know that if I am truly loving those around me, I am abiding by the laws of God. The thing that pleases God most is when we seek Him to love as He loves. Unkindness is not motivated by love. Frustration does not justify being unloving. With God, we can call out what is wrong, yet still be loving and kind. Love listens to the Lord’s leading, which manifests in that gentle nudging of what we know we need to do next in every situation. As a middle school teacher, I have multiple opportunities each day to practice. Often, I find that I am able to correct and redirect with kindness and love, yet there are times that I am so grateful that my thoughts are not on display with a thought bubble above my head. That being said, God knows. I am constantly in need of His help to change my thoughts and guide me in His grace and love. He is good, and we are all a work in progress. May we ever seek the Lord to lead us in His love so that we may walk in obedience to His law above all else.

To choose truly love,

For me, love fixed my computer so that I could get back to my normal morning routine. ❤

the best we can do;

for love does abide,

in all that is true.

Love does not choose hurt,

it does not do harm;

kindly reaches out,

brings calm to life’s storms.

For each time we love,

we follow His law;

true obedience,

that overlooks flaws.

We all are broken,

in need of God’s love;

our choice to give it,

points to Him above.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that when we love, we fulfill the laws that You have set for us to follow. Thank You that You show us what is and is not loving, and that Your Spirit will guide us in what is right when we seek and listen to You. Forgive us for the times that we have ignored the “still small voice” that guided us in how to love, or when we simply allowed our ego or irritation to get in the way of choosing to love. Teach us to trust You more so that we listen to You and gain Your heart for those around us. Lead us to love as You love so that all might come to know Your goodness and kindness. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we praise You for the overwhelming love You give to us, and seek You to lead us to do the same. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Grabrick and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

Love is patient, love is kind… – 1 Corinthians 13:4

Leave a comment