A Work in Progress

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. – (Philippians 3:12, NIV)

I don’t mean that I am exactly what God wants me to be. I have not yet reached that goal. But I continue trying to reach it and make it mine. That’s what Christ Jesus wants me to do. It is the reason He made me His. – (Philippians 3:12, ERV)

I’m not there yet, nor have I become perfect; but I am charging on to gain anything and everything the Anointed One, Jesus, has in store for me – and nothing will stand in my way because He has grabbed me and won’t let me go. – (Philippians 3:12, VOICE)

Paul, one of the most faithful followers of Christ found in the Bible, still recognized the need to press on in the pursuit of that for which he had been called. Not one of us “arrives”, but rather we are all a work in progress. When we place our trust and hope in Jesus, He leads us and guides us, corrects and refines us, so that we may more clearly reflect His heart to the world. Each day we live we have the opportunity to learn and grow. May we ever seek the Lord to lead us in His love and give Him room to refine us to represent Him well to the world around us.

The only perfect,

in this life’s pursuit;

is the Lord Jesus,

and His love that’s truth.

For as we seek Him,

He makes His heart known;

transforms the willing,

and calls us His own.

This is a process,

throughout our lifetime;

learning and growing,

as He calls us “Mine”.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that we are all a work in progress, yet when we pursue You with our whole heart, You hold us in Your capable hands. Thank You that we can always learn and grow. Forgive us for the times that we ignore the correction or direction You give. Teach us to listen and respond swiftly, and to ever pursue You to show us all that is good. Show us how to love those around us in ways that most clearly reflect Your heart for the world. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we give our hearts and lives to You to grow and transform us to more tangibly show Your love to those around us. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Grabrick and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – His good, pleasing and perfect will. – Romans 12:2

Leave a comment