Quenched By Faithful Love

You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek You; I thirst for You, my whole being longs for You, in a dry and parched land where there is no water. – (Psalm 63:1, NIV)

God, You are my God. I am searching so hard to find You. Body and soul, I thirst for You in this dry and weary land without water. – (Psalm 63:1, ERV)

O True God, You are my God, the One whom I trust. I seek You with every fiber of my being. In this dry and weary land with no water in sight, my soul is dry and longs for You. My body aches for You, for Your presence. – (Psalm 63:1, VOICE)

Thankfully, in the Pacific Northwest, the land is rarely dry and parched without water. However, all of us have seasons where we find ourselves thirsty for more. The only One who can truly satisfy is God. He brings strength and rest in our weariness, peace in our chaos, and love where it seems to be lacking. His timing is perfect, and He knows our needs best. Normally, today would be the beginning of the home stretch of a long week, yet tomorrow, just in time, is a day that will provide much needed rest. It is far easier to find the strength and resolve to rise and prepare for the day when it is the final work day of the week. I know that the feeling is similar among educators everywhere, as this has been a long and exhausting start to the school year. It is amazing to have kids back in classrooms, yet I am experiencing and can see it on the faces of my colleagues, weighty weariness. As I continue to seek the Lord to fill and renew me, it is my prayer that the extra day of rest will bring refreshment and new resolve for staff and students alike. May we choose to trust in the Lord, who is our strength and supply, even in the dry and weary spaces.

When weariness comes,

And reserves run dry;

The Lord is faithful,

In love, He’ll reply.

Each time we ask Him,

With grace, He comes near;

Grants strength in weakness,

And quiets our fear.

His strength is plenty,

His grace provides rest;

His love overwhelms,

And His care is best.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that we can come to You when we are weary and parched, and You are faithful to meet us where we are and provide what we need. Thank You that You love us best, and care for us through every trial and triumph. Forgive us for not seeking You in our lack. Teach us to trust You more, as You are our Provider. Show us how to love those around us in ways that bring strength in weariness and grace and goodness where it is lacking. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we seek You to satisfy our lack and bring peace in our weariness. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Grabrick and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. – 1 Corinthians 1:3

Leave a comment