Right Living Brings Joy

The father of a righteous child has great joy; a man who fathers a wise son rejoices in him. – (Proverbs 23:24, NIV)

The father of a good person is very happy. A wise child brings him joy. – (Proverbs 23:24, ERV)

The parents of the right-living will celebrate; yes, parents of children who make wise choices are happy. – (Proverbs 23:24, VOICE)

With Father’s Day being celebrated tomorrow, this is a fitting verse to ponder. The most important father to consider is our Heavenly Father, and to know that when we live right, we bring Him joy. As far as tangible examples of fathers and their children, I love to witness the joy that my husband’s son brings to him. He raised his son well, and to see them together brings me delight. As a parent, my children bring me joy when they make wise choices and I am so grateful that they are good humans. Many of us have fractured or non-existent relationships with our earthly fathers. For some, it is the loss of their father, whereas others, time and distance have eroded opportunities to know one another and be known. I am so grateful for both my mom and the parental figures who have spoken into my life, and have pointed me to live and love in a way that pursues what God would want. My husband experienced the same growing up, as his mom saw to it that he knew the way that was right and how to work hard. I know that he brings her joy, as to this day, he is still quick to go to help her with whatever he can if a need arises. May we ever look to the Lord to lead us in all that we say and do, and may our decisions to live right bring Him joy.

Heavenly Father,

may we bring You joy;

through our right living,

and love we employ.

Please show us the ways,

to follow upright;

to love as You love,

and bring You delight.

Thank You for parents,

who love their kids well;

thank You for children,

who in Your love dwell.

Show us, Lord Jesus,

how to stay the course;

You’ve set before us,

as You are our Source.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are our good Father. Thank You that You love beyond what we can grasp, and You show us what is good and the ways we are meant to go. Thank You that You delight in us when we walk in Your ways and do Your will. Forgive us for the times that we fall short and go our own way. Lead us to stay the course that You have set before us. Show us how to love those around us as You do. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we praise You for parents and children, and ever seek You to live and love as You intended. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Grabrick and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

Since You are my rock and my fortress, for the sake of Your Name lead and guide me. – Psalm 31:3

Leave a comment