Always Rejoice

Rejoice in the Lord always I will say it again: Rejoice! – (Philippians 4:4, NIV)

Always be filled with joy in the Lord. I will say it again. Be filled with joy. – (Philippians 4:4, ERV)

Most of all, friends, always rejoice in the Lord! I never tire of saying it: Rejoice! – (Philippians 4:4, VOICE)

It seems fitting that this is part of the passage that began my morning, as yesterday concluded the school year and I was able to make a quick trip a few hours south of us to watch my nephew play college baseball for the evening. I rejoice in God’s protection for safe travels, for a vehicle that runs well, for my husband that keeps it running well, for family to spend an evening with, and for at last arriving to a season of rest and refreshment after closing out my twenty-seventh year of teaching and coaching. From the end of August to the end of May, I spent nearly every afternoon/evening coaching after the close of the school day. Honestly, that was the portion of my day that always reminded me to rejoice. No matter how my school day had gone, there was a filling of joy as I worked with young people who wanted to learn or advance in a sport, and were happy to be present and a part of it. I can rejoice in the Lord for His faithfulness and provision, and for His strength to get through the difficult days, and His love that brought celebration in successes. God is always good, and His faithfulness and love are reason to rejoice, always. May we ever seek the Lord and rejoice in Him, for He is our true Source of joy and everything that is good.

Rejoice in the Lord,

for He is so good;

He leads and guides us,

makes grace understood.

He grants us His strength,

when we feel there’s none;

helps and empowers,

the Most Holy One.

The space where we find,

hope, help and true joy;

are where we’ve given,

our heart, strength and voice.

Lead us, Lord Jesus,

where we’re meant to go;

and help us rejoice,

as we live and grow.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are our reason to rejoice. Thank You that You provide joy in us and all around us so that we might know the goodness of Your love. Forgive us for the times that we have neglected to rejoice in You, for in You, we always have reason to give praise. Teach us to trust You more, and show us the joy in all things. Lead us to love and spread joy wherever we go and whatever we do, so that more may come to know the goodness found in You. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we rejoice in Your goodness and grace, and praise You for the joy found throughout each new day. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Grabrick and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in Him, and He helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise Him. – Psalm 28:7

Leave a comment