Presence

I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With Him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. – (Psalm 16:8, NIV)

I always remember that the Lord is with me. He is here, close by my side, so nothing can defeat me. – (Psalm 16:8, ERV)

He is ever present with me; at all times He goes before me. I will not live in fear or abandon my calling because He stands at my right hand. – (Psalm 16:8, VOICE)

David’s words are inspiring, and a reminder of what matters most. When I keep my eyes on Jesus, the things that come my way are not overwhelming because I know that He is with me and that He will stay by my side. However, when I allow my gaze to fix on the challenges, I become bogged down with details that are not meant for me to carry alone. He is good, and Jesus gently reminds me that He is near and that He is my help and my hope. Additionally, He provides reprieves that remind me that all that we have to navigate is temporary, and our forever is beautiful beyond what we could ever hope or imagine. May we ever trust the Lord and rely on Him, for He is present, He goes before us, and He will never leave us.

Choose trust in the Lord,

for He’s always good;

present beside us,

our hope understood.

He’ll go before us,

and make plain the way;

to keep pressing on,

throughout each new day.

Blessings abundant,

found knowing He’s near;

grace overwhelming,

as His love is clear.

So, trust in the Lord,

and call on His Name;

He will be present,

as love is proclaimed.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for the example of those who have gone before us who trusted completely in You. Thank You for Your word, as it reminds us of who You are and how You love. Thank You that You are always with us and will never leave us. Forgive us for the times that our eyes drift away from You and fix on the challenges in front of us. Teach us to look to You, trusting that as we walk forward, You will be with us every step of the way. Show us how to love those around us in ways that make Your heart tangible. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we trust in Your presence and make Your nearness known through our love. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Grabrick and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good. His love endures forever. – Psalm 136:1

Leave a comment