He who refreshes others will himself be refreshed. – (Proverbs 11:25)
It is amazing what God does when we choose to serve; not with the heart to get, but rather to bless and honor Him. Coming to Belize with a medical team was an act of obedience. I am not a medical person, so the role I feel called to is to help with practical things wherever and however I can. The first day, travel day, it was in the form of carrying luggage and promoting positivity despite serious sleep deprivation. Yesterday, it was help with lifting – flat tires, medical supplies, and an elderly man in need of transport to the hospital. I also learned how to make tortillas/tortas as I helped with meal prep. The second part of the verse has proven to be very true. After only about an hour of sleep on our first travel day, I was given the strength and energy needed to sustain me, followed by a full night’s rest. Again, last night, I slept through the night, despite my disdain for critters that creep (and fly) in the dark of night. Our accommodations are comfortable and spacious, Belizian food is compatible with my normal diet, and I am beyond blessed to watch God move through the gifts He has given to some of my dearest friends as they faithfully move where they are called to go. 


When we choose to go, 

 Where we have been called;

The Lord opens doors,

And tears down great walls. 

Let’s refresh others,

Lift each other up;

It’s awesome to see,

How He fills our cup. 

He’s faithful to be,

Wherever we are;

There’s no place we’ll go,

Too near or too far. 


Dear Heavenly Farher, thank You that as we go forth in obedience,You  meet us and provide what we need. Thank You that as we seek to refresh, support and encourage those around us, You do the same for us. Forgive us for neglecting to look for need beyond ourselves, and show us how we can serve one another in love. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we seek to serve You and those around us as You call us to do. Amen. 

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.
And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you.” – Exodus 33:19


