Never let loyalty and kindness leave you! Tie them around your neck as a reminder. Write them deep within your heart. Then you will find favor with both God and people, and you will earn a good reputation. – (Proverbs 3:3-4, NLT)

Don’t ever let love and loyalty leave you. Tie them around your neck, and write them on your heart. Then God will be pleased and think well of you and so will everyone else. – (Proverbs 3:3-4, ERV)

 

We are called to love God and love people. It is no wonder that God reminds us that when we do the very thing that He asks us to do, we will find favor with Him and those around us. Love is faithful and kind, and it is a choice to respond accordingly, regardless of what we are given. Though I do not have a reminder tied around my neck, I do have one that I wear around my wrist. Each day I encounter kids that are difficult to love. Because they are hurting, broken, or simply going through the terrible teens, I must choose to respond in kindness, despite what comes out of them. To choose love, for me, means that I make the choice to give grace when it is unwarranted, reply gently when harsh words are spoken, and attempt to correct in kindness rather than anger, when behaviors disrupt. I don’t always get it right, and there are moments where I do not respond as lovingly as I would have liked to have done, yet each morning is a new start, and God’s grace for me is just as great as that which He is willing to give to those around me. May we each choose love, and let loyalty and kindness be the response that we offer, as the favor of God and those around us shall follow.

 

Never let kindness,choose-love1

Or true loyalty;

Leave our hearts and minds,

It’s how we need be.

Find a reminder,

For both mind and heart;

Seek the Lord for strength,

To do well, our part.

As we opt choose love,

God is pleased with us;

So too, are people,

Such love shows Jesus.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that as we seek You and ask You for help, You grant us Your love and kindness to extend to those around us. Thank You that You extend Your favor to us when we love according to Your will. Forgive us for not choosing to love others as we are loved by You. Teach us to trust You more, so that we would depend on You for the strength that we need to extend grace and kindness, even when we don’t want to. Show us how to choose love in all situations and circumstances according to Your will, so that those we encounter would see Your heart for them through our words and deeds. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we keep loyalty and kindness close to our hearts, and choose to love as we are loved by You. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me. – Genesis 21:6

