Last of all I want to remind you that your strength must come from the Lord’s mighty power within you. – (Ephesians 6:10, TLB)

Finally, be strong in the Lord and His mighty power. – (Ephesians 6:10, NIV)

Finally, brothers and sisters, draw your strength and might from God. – (Ephesians 6:10, VOICE)

 

This is a season where such a reminder is especially relevant. Days are long and demanding, and time to rest is rare. If I attempt to power through my days in my own strength, I grow weary and do not run well. However, when I press into the Lord and seek Him to be my Source and Supply as I choose to do that which I am called to do in this season, He meets me in my need and provides the strength and stamina to stand strong and continue to answer what He is asking. Additionally, He supplies spaces of rest that I would not have anticipated, as He knows my needs far better than I do.

A simple example of His provision came as I woke this morning. Normally, I sleep between four and six hours each night. For me, it is enough, and He supplies all that I need to run strong. That being said, today is a day off, as it is our semester break, and I knew I did not HAVE to wake at a certain time. I set no alarm, and chose to allow my body to wake when it was ready. I naturally woke up at 4am, but decided that perhaps a bit more sleep would be wise. When I woke again, it was 8:30! More than eight and a half hours of sleep in one night… Strength from Him comes in spectacular ways.

May we each remember to draw our strength and might from God, as He is the ultimate Provider, and knows our every need.

 

For all that we need,Believe Instead of Striving

The Lord will supply;

We must look to Him,

In His strength, we rise.

Our God who indwells,

Our hearts and our minds;

Answers as we ask,

What’s needed, supplied.

Let us draw our strength,

From God who’s above;

So we can be strong,

As we walk in love.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that true strength and might come from You. Thank You that Your strength and power are present within us as we turn to trust in You. Thank You that You provide what we need, so that we may stand strong and continue walking in the direction to which we have been called. Forgive us for attempting to power through things in our own strength; for without You, we fall short and grow weary every time. Teach us to trust You more, as You are our strength and know what we need far better than we do. Show us how to love others well, so that we may build up and encourage those around us. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we draw our strength and might from You. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

The Lord is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love. – Psalm 145:8

