But I will still be glad in the Lord and rejoice in God my Savior. – (Habakkuk 3:18, ERV)

Yet I will rejoice in the Lord! I will be joyful in the God of my salvation! – (Habakkuk 3:18, NLT)

 

This passage in Habakkuk reminds me that no matter what is going on around me, my reason to rejoice is not circumstantial. My joy comes from knowing that my future is forever secure in Christ. No matter what goes on around me, He who is in me, is greater. Regardless of trial or triumph, my joy comes from Christ alone. May we go forth this day and be glad, knowing that our hope is held by He who hung the stars in the sky and He has our future in the palm of His hands.

 

Today I choose joy,Joy_in_the_morning

For the Lord is good;

No matter what comes,

My hope’s understood.

Reason to rejoice,

Is found in the Lord;

For He is my hope,

The One I adore.

Because the Lord saves,

I can rest assured;

No matter what comes,

My future’s secured.

All thanks be to God,

From Whom blessings flow;

Let our hearts rejoice,

In the truth we know.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that in You, we have reason to be glad and rejoice. Thank You that our joy comes not from our circumstances, but rather from our salvation and hope that is found in You. Forgive us for thinking that joy is dependent on what is going on around us. Teach us to trust You more, so that we would know the fullness of the joy that is found in knowing You. Show us how to love others in such a way, that we may share the joy of our salvation with them too. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we rejoice in You rather than that which surrounds us. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

The Lord is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love. – Psalm 145:8

 

 

