It is a strange space of trust when you send your teens off with people you barely know, for an eight-day adventure at sea. Yesterday, I dropped my boys off at the Sea Scout Center, where they were prepared to drive north to Anacortes, and then set sail for an eight-day cruise through the San Juan Islands, some other northern islands, and up into Canada, before cruising back to Tacoma. This will be an incredible journey, as they will see locations that are only accessible by boat or seaplane, so few eyes have taken in the beauty theirs will behold. That being said, they are out of reach, out of touch, and in a space where I have to place them in the Lord’s hands and trust that He will watch over them and keep them safe.

 

I say to the Lord, “You are my place of safety, my fortress. My God, I trust in You.” – (Psalm 91:2, ERV)

This I declare, that He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; He is my God, and I am trusting Him. – (Psalm 91:2, TLB)

 

Today, I choose to trust in the goodness and faithfulness of God. He is my place of safety and protection, and I am trusting Him to be the same for my boys. May we each rise up and recognize the refuge present in our Provider, and run to Him in all things and at all times.

 

In spaces of new,photo (12)

May we learn to trust;

In Your faithfulness,

As You are for us.

You are our safety,

To Whom we can run;

Trustworthy refuge,

O Glorious One.

You alone are God,

And I will trust You;

To be my refuge,

As Your word is truth.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are our place of safety and our fortress. Thank You that we can trust in You, as You are our God. Thank You that You go with us and protect us, and that we can trust You to be present at all times. Forgive us for our fearfulness. Teach us to trust You more, so that we would know that You alone are our Source of safety in whom we can trust. Show us how to love others in such a way, that they sense a safety within us that soothes the soul and leads them to look for You. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we choose to place our trust in You and seek You as our Source of safety in all things. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present

But because of His great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ. – Ephesians 2:4-5

 

 

