You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in Your word. – (Psalm 119:114, NIV)
Whenever I walk into something new, I have to spend a bit of time as an observer. Last evening’s arrival at camp was no exception. Initially, I felt as if I had been set in a sea of extroverts, a bit fearful of how I was to stay afloat; as I am far more reserved than many. As the evening unfolded, I remembered why I am here. It is not about me and my comfort, it is about loving and growing kids well. God is my refuge and my shield, and I need only look out the back door of my dwelling for the week to be reminded of Who provides my hope and my strength, and daily I seek the truth through His word. He is good, and I cannot wait to see how the week unfolds. Time off the grid in His creation, focused on His presence, is a gift. May I embrace it well. 
Our refuge and shield, 

 The Lord, He is good;

All hope we can place,

In Him, understood. 

The truth of His word,

Shall lead and shall guide;

The way we’re to go,

On Him, choose rely. 

All peace and all grace,

Come from Him alone;

May we choose to trust,

Let His hope be known. 


Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are our refuge and our shield. Thank You that we can place our hope in Your word. Forgive us for failing to do so, as we allow our own fears and insecurities to get in the way. Make us fearless for You. Show us how to love others in such a way, that our lives would point their hearts to You. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we trust You to be our refuge and shield, and place our hope in Your word. Amen. 
Taste and see that The Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him. – Psalm 34:8

