The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in Him and He helps me. My heart leaps for joy and with my song I praise Him. – (Psalm 28:7, NIV)

The Eternal is the source of my strength and the shield that guards me. When I learn to rest and truly trust Him, He sends His help. This is why my heart is singing! I open my mouth to praise Him, and thankfulness rises up as song. – (Psalm 28:7, VOICE)

 

When we slow down and give way to trust – that space where we truly rest in Him – this is the place where we recognize His grace, and how He has strengthened and protected us through the storms. As we recognize who He is and all that He has done, gratitude rises up, and joy goes forth from our hearts in song. Sometimes our song is spoken, sometimes it is through service, and still other times it is with voices raised, we join the heavenly choir in singing out about the greatness and faithfulness of our glorious God. May our hearts leap for joy as we recognize that the Lord is indeed our source of strength and our shield, and choose to let songs of gratitude rise up and go forth from our entire being.

 

My strength and my shield,Who Wants to Fight

I’ll trust in You, Lord;

for You are my help,

Your grace is outpoured.

My heart leaps for joy,

for all that You are;

I sing songs of praise,

O bright Morning Star.

So much gratitude,

that I can’t contain;

the hope that I have,

in knowing Your Name.

Teach me to choose rest,

and trust in Your grace;

it‘s where I am safe,

Your tender embrace.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are my strength and my shield. Thank You that I can trust in You to be my help. Thank You that it is in that space of where I settle in and rest in You, and truly trust, that You help me and comfort me with Your love. Thank You that my heart knows great joy and cannot help but sing praise for who You are and all that You do. Forgive me for not slowing down to give You the reigns when things seem crazy. Teach me to trust You more, so that in all things and at all times, I will give all to You – as everything is better in Your hands. Show me how to love others so that they may see a heart of gratitude unto You. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as You are my strength and shield, and I trust You to be my help, and ever sing songs of praise to You. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

May God be gracious to us and bless us and make His face shine upon us. – Psalm 67:1

