But in my distress I cried out to the Lord; yes, I prayed to my God for help. He heard me from His sanctuary; my cry to Him reached His ears. – (Psalm 18:6, NLT)

 

I am thankful that God hears us when we call on His Name.  Cautious, my son, was struggling with some congestion triggering his asthma yesterday. By last evening, I was on high alert. As we neared midnight, I knew that waiting it out was no longer an option; so off to the ER we went. Thankfully, we are not new to the process, so Cautious was not fearful, just hopeful that relief would be provided quickly. For me, despite the nerves of knowing my child was struggling, a calm came, that only Christ could provide. We were able to enter, be seen and exit the unfamiliar ER in my sister’s hometown, in a matter of a few short hours. There was no wait, and the staff was kind. The prayers of my heart were heard, and He acted quickly on our behalf. May we always remember to call on the Lord in our distress, and pray to Him for help; for He hears our every call and is our help and our hope.

 

Let us choose give thanks,IMG_1804

to the Lord who hears;

our every cry,

our lips to His ears.

As we choose to pray,

ask help from the Lord;

He hears and answers,

His grace He affords.

We praise You, O God,

for Your loving grace;

You help and You hold,

us in Your embrace.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that in our distress, You hear our every cry. Thank You that when we pray to You for help, You hear us and respond to us. Thank You that You never leave us nor forsake us, and You love us unconditionally. Forgive us for not seeking You in our spaces of distress. Teach us to trust You more, so that we would pray to You in all situations and circumstances, knowing that Your presence will provide the peace and strength that is needed to navigate wherever we find ourselves. Lead us to love others with Your relentless love. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we cry out to You and pray to You, trusting that You hear our every cry. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

Is anyone happy? Let him sing songs of praise. – James 5:13

 

