I sing a song to give You thanks, and I tell about the wonderful things You have done. – (Psalm 26:7, ERV)

There is nothing that uplifts my countenance quite so quickly, as when I begin to sing with no concern for anything that surrounds me, and all of my attention is on Him whom I am singing for. Worship music has a way of reminding my head and my heart of the truth I already know, as thanks and praise bubble to the surface, and I cannot help but be overwhelmed with gratitude for how very good our gracious God is unto us. When I am armed with songs that give thanks to God, what comes out of my mouth tends to more clearly reflect the wonders that He has done in my life. I tend to point to the positive, even in the midst of trials, when my heart is holding thoughts of thankfulness. May we each be armed with songs of thanks in our hearts, so that we go forth speaking of the wonderful things that the Lord has done, regardless of our circumstances.

I sing unto You,

image by Elizabeth Blank

image by Elizabeth Blank

with a heart of praise;

all thanks be to God,

for all of my days.

Lord, help me to tell,

of Your faithfulness;

despite my trials,

or times of distress.

You are always good,

and that’s why I’ll sing;

let thanksgiving reign,

my true offering.

From posture of praise,

may others come know;

the truth of Your love,

through that which we show.

All glory to You,

O wondrous King;

with heart full of thanks,

I will choose to sing.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are so faithful and loving unto us. thank You that You do wonderful things for us, in us and through us, though we deserve it not. Thank You that You receive our offerings of thanks and praise as pleasing before You, regardless of our eloquence or tune. Forgive us for not choosing to raise our voice in thanks, despite the wonderful things You have done. Teach us to remember Your faithfulness, even in our toughest trials, so that we would rely on who You are, rather than what we see with our own eyes. Lead us to share our gratitude and wonder with others, so that they too, may come to marvel at who You are and all that You have done. May many come into the wonderful space of Your loving embrace, as they choose to surrender all unto You. Be glorified O God, as we sing songs of thanks unto You, and tell of all the wonderful things that You have done. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad. – 1 Chronicles 16:31

