Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in Him. – (Psalm 62:5, NLT)

To quiet all of me, means to still my body, mind and spirit. This is no easy task. My mind races, my body longs to move, and my spirit is often unsettled in the constant momentum. It requires that I make an intentional choice to be silent before the Lord and simply wait in stillness. Neither natural, nor comfortable, this requires a choice of the will, because my hope is indeed held in God. What I find is that when I do slow down and silence myself before Him, and choose to wait quietly, He is faithful to meet me, and always has something to say to my heart. In the quiet wait, He whispers His words of encouragement, direction, correction and love. Time spent quietly waiting before God, is never for naught. He meets us in these moments, and reminds us why He is our hope and the One whom we can cling to in all things and at all times. May we allow all that we are to wait quietly before God, because our hope is held in Him alone.

O Lord I come,Confidence Comes Through Christ

in quietness;

as I choose wait,

I find my rest.

For all my hope,

is found in You;

O Faithful One,

Your word is true.

When chaos reigns,

and there’s no peace;

Lord please come near,

and grant release.

Encouragement,

when we have none;

all grace You give,

O Holy One.

May we allow,

all that we are;

to wait on You,

Great Morning Star.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that we can come, with all that we are, and wait quietly before You. Thank You that You are faithful to meet us in the moments that we choose to come before You, and our hope is held in You alone. Forgive us for allowing our busyness to keep us from being intentional to wait quietly before You. Teach us to slow down and wait in Your presence, for You alone are our hope and our help. Lead us to love others in such a way, that they too may see the hope that is held in You. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we wait quietly before You, placing all of our hope in You. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. – 2 Corinthians 3:5

