You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in Your word. – (Psalm 119:114, NIV)

Hide me and protect me. I trust what You say. – (Psalm 119:114, ERV)

Yesterday, I was given news that I did not want to hear. It was information that I needed to know, but nonetheless, not what I wanted. My initial reaction was a flash of fury, followed by the recognition that it is beyond the realm of my control. All that I can do is hide my heart in Christ, and trust the truth that what His word says is true. No, this will not be an easy task, but He is my refuge and my shield. Again and again, Christ has shown me that I can trust Him, as I place my hope in Him, rather than what I see. When all that surrounds us wages war, He is our peace. As calm comes, we can trust that He is the reason that we can rest, as we remember the truth of His word. May we run to Him who is our refuge and our shield, and place all of our hope in Him.

You’re my hiding place,Gods protection
refuge in the storm;
comfort in chaos,
a love always warm.
My hope I will place,
in Your word alone;
in Your truth I trust,
despite the unknown.
For You Lord are good,
despite what life yields;
Your presence enough,
our hope and our shield.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are our refuge and shield, and that we may place all of our hope in Your word. Thank You that You hide us and protect us, and that we can trust all that You say. Forgive us for our fearfulness and uncertainty in the throes of life’s chaos, and teach us to trust You with a faith that does not waiver, no matter what comes. Lead us to love others in such a way, that they too may come to know of the safety and security found in Your love alone. Be glorified O God, as we place our hope and trust in You and Your word. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me. – Genesis 21:6

