Yesterday was the second and final day of the Ragnar Relay, that I partook in for the second year in a row. This relay is a 12 person, 196 mile event, that is continuous running until the course is completed. The race is divided into 36 legs, and each runner runs three different legs, that vary in length and terrain. There were two factors this year that made the course more challenging. First, I went from having the one of the shorter combined mileage total legs to the longest mileage legs. Additionally, the weather this year was HOT. I am typically an early morning or late evening runner, as I much prefer the cooler temperatures, or at least the heat that does not include the sun beating down on the pavement. For our van, van two, two out of the three legs that we ran, were directly run in the heat of the day. Direct sun on asphalt adds about twenty degrees to the air temperature when one is running, so the temperatures which we were enduring were upwards of 104+…

 

The interesting thing that I found myself doing on each of my runs, was I knew that despite all of my preparation, it would only be in His strength, that I would be able to endure and run the race that had been set before me. Each time I received the bracelet (in lieu of a baton) I would find myself praying nearly the entire run. Each time, I was thankful for a healthy body that was able to be out in such beautiful terrain and capable of moving freely. Next, I found myself letting the Lord know just how desperately I needed Him to sustain me, as during the daytime runs, I feared heat exhaustion without His strength and endurance. My middle of the night leg was my longest leg, as I ran 9.8 miles at 2am in the dark, through Deception Pass. With each run, I found that my legs kept moving, and my body knew what to do. He sustained me, and brought me joy in the journey, as I was able to take in the beauty that surrounded me as I ran. Even on the hardest legs in the heat, He used other runners, my teammates, and random strangers to encourage me along the way. Though one of the most exhausting and grueling tests of physical endurance I have endured, it was yet again an opportunity for God to show me more of Himself in a very tangible way. The verse that seems most fitting for the experience for me is as follows:

 

God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day. – (Psalm 46:5)

 

God sustains and protects His people as we call on His Name. He is present and able to provide, even in the seemingly impossible spaces. He is so very good. May we rise up and run, trusting in His strength to sustain us, so that others too, may see that it is He who is within us, is our help and our strength.

 

No matter our race,God Will Help

the Lord remains near;

whenever we pray,

our God, He shall hear.

For the Lord within,

will not let us fall;

He’ll help and sustain,

to that which we’re called.

From the break of day,

to the setting sun;

the Lord is faithful,

His love’s never done.

Let us choose to trust,

in the One who can;

provide what’s needed,

our wondrous I AM.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are good. Thank You that when we place our trust in You, You are within us and You keep us from falling. Thank You that You are our help, no matter the hour of the day or night. Thank You that You have created us each with a far greater capacity than we think is possible until we step out and trust in You. Forgive us for limiting Your ability to move through us, through our choice to limit what we are willing to do. Teach us to trust You more, so that we will be willing to step out in faith to whatever You ask of us. Lead us to love others well, so that they too, may come to know the love and faithfulness that is available in You alone. Be glorified O God, as we depend on You in all that we say and do. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus  Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort. – 2 Corinthians 1:3

