Just as many of us were blessed with mothers who took us by the hand when we were afraid as little children and walked us into the new and the unknown that was frightening, so too, will God do for us now.

 

For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you. – (Isaiah 41:13)

 

Though my mom is a mighty woman in whom Christ dwells, my God is far greater. He sees me as His daughter, and will not hesitate to take hold of my hand and lead me through the scary spaces that I am called to walk.

 

When I am afraid, I will trust in You. – (Psalm 56:3)

 

The Lord is our help and our hope, and His intent for us is not to stay stuck in fear. He calls us to look to Him, and allow Him to hold our hand and lead us in His strength into the trials where terror once reigned. God is greater than anything that we face, and His strength is mightier than any weapons formed against us. We need not be afraid, when we place our trust in Christ. May we go forth this day celebrating the strength that God has placed in His daughters; as birth mothers, adoptive mothers, spiritual mothers, and those ladies who love others well, as they have released fear, and simply chosen to love, just as the Lord has called them to do.

 

Take me by the hand,mother and child

when I am afraid;

for You are my help,

I’ll not be dismayed.

I will choose to trust,

in Your strength, not mine;

for You are the Lord,

most holy, divine.

Thank You for the ones,

whom You’ve given us;

the mothers who’ve shown,

the heart of Jesus.

Help me too, to walk,

with a heart like Yours;

so fear melts away,

and Your strength endures.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are our God who takes hold of our hand and tells us to not be afraid. Thank You that You are our help and our hope. Thank You that when we trust in You, we need not fear. Thank You for the precious gift of mothers, grandmothers, aunts, sisters, and wonderful women that You have blessed us with to demonstrate Your strength in action. Forgive us for allowing our hearts to stay stuck in fear, and help us to extend our hearts and hands to You, as You are our help and our hope. Teach us to trust You more, so that our immediate response is to reach for You. Lead us to love others well, just as You call us to do. May many come into a lasting relationship with You, Lord. Be glorified O God, as we take hold of Your hand and trust Your help to walk us through the fearful places, in Your strength. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. – 2 Corinthians 3:5

