Clearly, Christ is calling me into a season of rest, despite the dizzying pace of life all around me. In the midst of the craziness, I find myself blessed with a weekend without an agenda. This morning, I was able to wake without an alarm, and the time I rose, was a few hours later than my typical Saturday morning movement. Today holds only the honor of time with treasured friends. No schedule. No must do’s. Just time together, enjoying catching up after nearly a year since we last gathered. Rather than rushing around to take care of errands and schedules and the this and that’s that need to be accomplished, today will simply require me to be in the moment, and enjoy the precious time that I have been granted.
Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. – (Matthew 11:28)
He is so faithful to provide as we choose to abide. As I continue to hand Him my heavy burdens, Christ creates these precious places where my heart is filled and my spirit is refreshed, as He knows what I need and how to best give my weary soul, rest. May we continue to come before Him who is abundantly able to supply all of our needs, and allow the miraculous exchange to take place – our weariness for His glorious rest.
Come all you weary,Acceptance As We Acknowledge

for the Lord knows best;

how to lift us up,

and grant our souls rest.

He takes our burdens,

and carries the load;

gives strength where we’re weak,

and hope we can hold.

The Lord is faithful,

come near and abide;

let Christ come refresh,

as His love will guide.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You for loving us where we are, and for being the place where we can find rest. Thank You that we can come to You when we are weary and burdened, and You give us rest. Thank You that the rest You give is far greater than that which we would even ask or hope for, as You know what we need better than we do. Forgive us for not seeking You in our weariness, and teach us to trust You even when our burdens feel unbearable. Lead us to love others with the same sort of tenacity that You have towards each of us. May many come into a lasting relationship with You. Be glorified O God, as we come to You with our weariness and receive Your remarkable rest. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me. – Genesis 21:6

